CORUS 阻断利润流失

Corus是欧洲第二大钢材供应商。在正常贸易环境下,其年收入超过130亿欧元,年钢铁产量约2000万吨。作为Tata Steel Group的子公司,Corus为英国和欧盟地区许多要求最为严苛的金属用户供货。
CSP UK Port Talbot的厂区占地面积很大,约30 km2,以高速公路车速通过需要数分钟,直接雇佣员工数约3500人。该公司可供应适用于建筑、汽车工业和家用电器等各种应用的热轧钢板。其基础生产工艺为连续浇铸(或称为连续铸造),即连续流动的熔融金属凝固后切割成约20米长的“半成品”钢板,随后再根据客户要求重新加热和轧制。

Port Talbot的机械设备于2004年安装投产,仍然相对较新,但现场工程师注意到,其中一间连续铸造车间内有些区域的机械紧固件可能因振动而松动,因此存在计划外维护的风险,并且由此会大幅度提高维修成本或换件成本。

因此在2008年年初,Corus联系了其紧固件供应商Williams Fasteners,寻求获得降低相关成本的建议。Williams自从15年前进入英国市场以来一直与洛帝牢保持联系,因此Williams知道谁能够解决这个问题。

Williams的业务发展经理Richard Cliffe与洛帝牢英国西南公司的技术销售工程师Peter Higgins进行了初步探讨,之后由Higgins在Port Talbot向Corus的数名核心维修人员演示了洛帝牢螺栓紧固系统。Cliffe先生回忆道,“洛帝牢在Corus负责维护管理工作的技术代表与我方在英国的Corus紧固件供应商之间开展了紧密合作,这使得Corus能够快速了解到洛帝牢系列产品的优势。”

其间,维护工程师明确了某个连续铸造车间存在两个问题;在Caster 1铸造机中,22 mm螺栓松动导致传动轴性能下降;在Caster 3铸造机连铸机3回转台的一个旋转环上,由于振动导致36 mm螺栓被剪切。这两个问题每年都会出现三、四次,而维修工作会耽误工作时间并由此造成严重损失,某些情况下甚至可能导致炼钢流程部分中断。

“起初,我们对位于车间中间位置钢板成形的关键区域的Caster 1驱动轴装配了洛帝牢防松垫圈,”Caster 1的计划工程师Graham Thoma解释道,“这是首次测试,我们可能会损失驱动轴,而这意味着车间会停产,因此测试风险很大。但我们仍然选择相信洛帝牢系统具有的良好的耐振性。而最终结果也令我们非常满意,我们倍感欣喜。”
在确认洛帝牢防松垫圈的价值之后,Thomas先生将其安装在Caster 3的回转台上,同样也获得了良好的工作效果。

自装配洛帝牢之后,维护工程师再没有报告过此前出现的问题,事实证明其可靠性非常高,Thomas先生甚至无法确定究竟它为公司节省了多少维护成本。  他解释道,“洛帝牢防松垫圈解决了我们面临的这些问题,从而避免了意外停机,由此节省的成本无法估量。”

“例如,在实践中,如果我的某个维护团队告诉我其使用了洛帝牢防松垫圈,这意味着即使采用严格的检查制度,他们也会相信,相较于我们过去每周一次的检查次数,现在所需的维护检查会少得多。”使用洛帝牢防松垫圈消除了导致计划外维护的特殊诱因,使得工程师们有更多的时间集中精力于计划外维护,保证车间所有区域顺利生产。

目前来看这些厂区内的初期应用只是开始。“虽然我们是厂区内首批使用洛帝牢系统的车间”Thomas先生表示,“但其潜力巨大,因为我们车间的规模庞大。”

真实案例:Corus连续浇铸炼钢设备
产品:适用于各类市场的热轧卷板
行业:包括汽车、家电、建筑、包装钢材以及其他使用带钢的应用
年产量:约470万吨
员工人数:3,500人(直接雇佣)
建立时间:1923年
螺栓固定方案:洛帝牢

业务参数

以下是Corus Strip Products UK使用洛帝牢防松垫圈带来的好处:

  • 车间维护成本降低 – 即使初期投资有所提高。
  • 摩擦力下降 - 可以使用润滑剂。
  • 机械摩擦减少,如高温、振动和腐蚀引起的摩擦。
  • 维护简单 - 工程师检查频率减少。
  • 无需调整 - 洛帝牢系统可适配现有螺母和螺栓。
  • Williams、Corus,以及洛帝牢代表、技术销售工程师Peter Higgins的紧密合作极大地提高了连接安全性。

More insights and references

与我们取得联系

如需了解更多关于我们如何处理您的具体联系信息,请参阅我们的隐私条款

感谢您与我们联系!

How Corus stopped money melting away

Corus is Europe’s second largest steel producer. In normal trading conditions it generates annual revenues of more than 13 billion euro and produces about 20 million tonnes of steel a year. Part of the Tata Steel Group, it supplies many of the most demanding metal customers across the UK and EU.

At roughly 30 km2 the CSP UK Port Talbot site covers a huge area, taking several minutes at motorway speed to pass, and directly employs some 3,500 people. It supplies hot rolled coil for applications as varied as construction, the automotive industry and domestic appliances. The underlying production process is called continuous casting – or Con-Cast – whereby a continuous stream of molten ­metal is solidified and cut into “semi-finished” slabs of steel about 20 meters long which are then ­re-heated and rolled according to ­customers’ ­requirements.

The machinery at Port Talbot is still com­paratively new, having been installed in 2004, but engineers at the site had noticed that vibration was tending to cause some of the fastenings on parts of the machinery in one of its Con-Cast plants to work loose, creating the risk of unplanned maintenance and costly repairs or even replacement.

So in early 2008, Corus contacted its fastener supplier, Williams Fasteners, for advice on reducing these costs. Williams has been associated with Nord-Lock almost since the company entered the UK market about 15 years ago, so it knew who to contact about this problem.

Initial discussions between Williams’ business development manager Richard Cliffe and Peter Higgins, Nord-Lock’s technical sales ­engineer for the UK’s South West, led to Higgins demonstrating the Nord-Lock Bolt Securing System to a group of key Corus maintenance staff at Port Talbot. As Mr Cliffe recalls, “Close collaboration between the Nord-Lock technical representatives, maintenance management at Corus, and ourselves as fastener suppliers to Corus for the whole of the UK, quickly enabled Corus to appreciate the advantages of the Nord-Lock range.”

As a result, maintenance engineers identified two applications in one of the Con-Cast plants; in one casting machine, Caster 1, the performance of the driveshaft was dropping off as 22 mm bolts worked loose; and on a rotating ring in the turret of the Caster 3 machine, 36 mm bolts were shearing as a result of vibration. Both problems had been arising three or four times a year, with the necessary repairs causing costly delays and in some instances partial shutdown of the steel-making process.

“Initially, we fitted Nord-Lock washers to the Caster 1 driveshaft, which sits on the critical middle section of the plant that forms the steel slabs,” explains Graham Thomas, Caster 1’s planning engineer. “This was a stiff first test, as the potential of losing the shaft would have meant stopping the plant. But we went with Nord-Lock because of how its system resists vibration, and I’m happy to say the outcome has been very positive.”
Having proved their value there, Mr Thomas then had them fitted to the Caster 3 turret, with equally positive results.

Since fitting Nord-Lock, none of the previous problems have been reported – in fact, such is their dependability that Mr Thomas can’t put a figure on how much it has saved in maintenance costs.  As he explains, “The savings are unquantifiable because using Nord-Lock washers has allowed us to avoid the unplanned shutdowns these issues used to cause.”

“In practice, for example, one of my maintenance teams tells me that introducing Nord-Lock washers has meant that, even with our strict checking regime, they are confident that maintenance checks need to be carried out far less often now than the weekly ones we used to have to make.”
That has enabled the engineers to eliminate this particular cause of unscheduled repairs and allows them more scope to concentrate on scheduled maintenance and keep all areas of the plant running smoothly.

And these initial applications at the site look set to be only the beginning. “Although we are the first people at the site to use the Nord-Lock system,” says Mr Thomas, “the potential here is vast – simply because it’s such a vast plant.”

Facts: Corus continuous casting steel-making facility
Products: supplier of hot-rolled coil to a range of markets
Industries: include automotive, appliances, construction, packaging steels, and other applications using strip steel
Annual production: about 4.7 million tonnes
Number of employees: 3,500 (directly employed)
Founded: 1923
Bolt securing: Nord-Lock

Business arguments

This is how Corus Strip Products UK benefits from Nord-Lock washers:

  • Lower plant maintenance costs – even if the initial investment is higher.
  • Lower friction – lubricants can be used.
  • Less machinery wear, such as that caused by heat, vibration and corrosives.
  • Ease of maintenance – engineers need to check less frequently.
  • No adaptation needed – the Nord-Lock system fits existing nuts and bolts.
  • Optimization of joint security was made possible by collaboration between Williams and Corus and with Nord-Lock’s representative Peter Higgins, Technical Sales Engineer.

More insights and references

Get in touch with us

To read more on how we handle your contact details please see our Privacy Policy

Thank you for contacting us!