洛帝牢让创新风力发电机制造商高枕无忧

质量与经久耐用性是东方风电(Eastern Wind Power)选择50kW垂直轴风力发电机配件的优先考虑事项。

东方风电公司总部位于马萨诸塞州剑桥市,即将推出一款可应用于城镇高楼屋顶、偏远工业厂房或发展中国家地区的风力发电机产品,为饮水、照明等基本需求供电。

螺旋桨式水平轴风力发电机在世界许多地区都很常见。东方风电公司的垂直轴风力发电机产品不同于螺旋桨式水平轴风力发电机,它具有三片6米高垂直式碳纤维叶片。这种垂直式构造噪音低、受鸟类袭击风险小、不存在变速箱配置及相关机械问题,而且与传统风力发电机相比,两个风力发电机的安装间距更小。

因对先前用于空中农场50kW垂直轴风力发电机的螺栓安全解决方案不甚满意,东方风电公司尝试使用了洛帝牢锲形制锁防松垫圈。洛帝牢产品的表现让人惊叹。东方风电公司董事长Linda Mongelli Haar说:“我们无法承受失败。我们不想在经过所有的设计研发努力之后却因为安装了一些性能不够的螺母螺栓而导致质量问题。所以,我们转而选择洛帝牢。”

目前,东方风电每个风力发电机叶片和支柱的固定都使用了24个洛帝牢NL8ss防松垫圈。“如果这里的螺栓未拧紧固,还差那么些许到顶,叶片就会开始振动。甚至,即使它不是一直未到顶,但只要留出的空间足以让叶片发生振动,使整个风力发电机失去平衡,叶片就很可能咔嚓一声突然断裂。”公司总裁兼CEO Jonathan Haar说道。

东方风电公司目前已引起了世界风电行业巨头之一西门子工业公司的关注。“西门子正打算进军‘小型风能’开发利用领域。他们希望以垂直轴风力发电机作为设计西门子变换器的原型,”Linda提到,“他们考察了众多公司,最终选中了我们。他们投出的这一票是对我们极大的信任。”

该项目在夏威夷、加勒比海等能源价格极高的地区颇受欢迎,这些地区的能源价格可以赶上风速了。Linda说:“距离总部较近的部分高层建筑业主也开始对公司产品感兴趣。他们很清楚,这种分布式能源将很快收回成本,在短暂的盈亏平衡之后,未来20多年几乎不花分毫即可免费使用能源。”

洛帝牢北美地域总经理James Brooks先生称东方风电公司为风电领域“OEM制造商发展突飞猛进的典范”。他说:“过去四年,在东方风电等一些专注创新和安全问题的公司推动下,洛帝牢公司在北美的OEM业务不断成长。确保螺栓连接安全是我们最基本的使命。我们正迅速成长成为风电领域的标杆。”

与我们取得联系

如需了解更多关于我们如何处理您的具体联系信息,请参阅我们的隐私条款

感谢您与我们联系!

Innovative wind turbine maker gets peace of mind with Nord-Lock

Quality and durability are Eastern Wind Power’s top priorities for its 50kW vertical axis wind turbines.

Cambridge, Massachusetts-based Eastern Wind Power (EWP) launched a wind turbine that could be spotted on roofs of urban high-rises, at remote industrial plants, or in developing countries, providing power for basic needs like drinking water and lighting.

Unlike the propeller-type horizontal axis wind turbines that are common in many parts of the world, EWP’s vertical axis wind turbine has three vertical six-metre high carbon fibre blades. The benefits of this vertical configuration include lower noise, less risk to birds, no gearboxes and their associated mechanical issues, and they can be erected closer together than traditional wind turbines.

Not satisfied with the bolt securing solutions they had used previously in their Sky Farm 50kW Vertical Axis Wind Turbine, EWP tried Nord-Lock wedge-locking washers and were amazed with the results. “We cannot afford failures,” says Linda Mongelli Haar, Chairman of Eastern Wind Power, Inc. “We wanted to make sure after all our design and development work that we didn’t lose the quality by putting on nuts and bolts that weren’t going to do the job. That is why we turned to Nord-Lock.”

EWP currently uses Nord-Lock NL8ss washers – 24 per turbine – to secure the blades to the struts. “If the bolts here are not properly secured you get the bolt backing out a little and it will start to vibrate,” says Jonathan Haar, President and CEO of EWP. “And even if it doesn’t back out all the way, it might snap the whole blade off because you’ve allowed enough space for vibration. That vibration can throw your whole turbine out of balance.”

EWP has attracted the attention of Siemens Industry Inc, one of the biggest players in the world wind power sector. “Siemens was looking to venture into ‘small wind’ and they wanted to prototype their inverters with a vertical axis turbine,” says Linda. “They interviewed a lot of companies and they selected us, which was a great vote of confidence.”

The project is in particular receiving a lot of interest from markets like Hawaii and the Caribbean where the energy prices are as high as the wind speeds. “We are also starting to get some interest from owners of high-rise buildings closer to home who understand that distributed energy will pay them back quickly and they will have a good 20 years of virtually free energy after a short break-even,” says Linda.

President of Nord-Lock Inc., calls EWP “a fantastic example of a progressive original equipment manufacturer (OEM)” in the wind power segment. “In the last four years Nord-Lock in North America has seen its OEM business grow as a result of companies like EWP focusing on innovation and safety – and safety of bolted joints is our primary mission,” he says. “We are rapidly becoming an industry standard in the wind power segment.”

Get in touch with us

To read more on how we handle your contact details please see our Privacy Policy

Thank you for contacting us!