联轴器的挑战与进步

联轴器被应用于许多关键之处,也是最具挑战性的螺栓连接之一。随着机器变得更大更强,人们对联轴器的需求愈发殷切。

联轴器诞生于工业化时代之初,甚至更早之前,有些简单的机器比如纺纱机、风车等,就需要把转轴连接起来。自从1884年汽轮机问世后,联轴器便成为发电和航运行业必不可少的部件。而随着涡轮机和货轮越造越大,需要传输的动力和扭矩越来越高。这就对轴和联轴器—就螺栓联轴器而言,还有螺栓本身—提出了更高的要求。

对大型螺栓联轴器有着三十多年经验的工程师Martin Walsh说:「在发电和海运行业,联轴器到处可见,它们其实没有什么变化。看看六、七十年前的联轴器,它的设计和概念跟今天几乎一样。但是,这背后的工程技术就不可同日而语了。尤其是螺栓,它使联轴器变得越来越精良,尺寸很小的联轴器就可以传输较大的扭矩。」

带螺栓的联轴器最重要的功能之一是保持轴对中。在海上应用中,轴通常是低速运转,一旦轴不对中,就会引起振动,给轴承施加不必要的载荷。在发电应用中,转速高达每分钟3,600转,而一丝振动或者不均匀载荷,都会严重影响涡轮机全功率运行的能力。因此,为了优化轴对中,付出大量的时间和资源。

Walsh道:「达到对中后,需要用螺栓固定,从而在运转时保持对中。将来您也许会拧下螺栓,断开轴连接。当您再把它们组装在一起的时候,要做到严丝合缝,一如当初,这样才不会荒废之前为对中所付出的大量精力。」

多年以来,最常见的螺栓连接解决方案是标准的贯穿螺栓,它们相对便宜实用。这种螺栓只需插入螺孔中,另一端用螺母紧固,形成摩擦力连接。但是通过摩擦传输的扭矩却非常有限,而过大的扭矩则会导致工件下降滑移和错位。由此产生的轻微移动和不均匀载荷,会造成螺栓和螺孔的破损。此时就需要重组联轴器及重新进行轴对中。

理论上,由于螺栓横截面的直接剪力可增加扭矩,所以插入螺孔内的配合螺栓能够传递更大的扭矩容量。但实际上,螺栓直径会在紧固过程中缩小,因此螺栓是很难达到真正的配合状态。这就会在螺栓与螺孔之间形成间隙,引起滑移和螺栓失效的问题。

即使联轴器被拆卸和重新组装后,也要建立和保持轴对中;这使膨胀套筒螺栓的使用日益增加。膨胀套筒螺栓可以在螺孔内膨胀,因此保证了真正的螺栓配合,而且载荷分布也要均匀得多。这能消除移动和滑移,而当膨胀套管螺栓被重新装上后,就能自动重新为轴对中。

Nord-Lock全球产品(膨胀螺栓)经理Steve Brown表示:「以精度而论,膨胀套筒螺栓也许称得上是过去三十年来最大的进步。它们有很多优点,如容易安装,配合精确,便于拆卸和重新对中,如果孔的条件合适,它们还可以恢复同轴度及重复使用。」

工程分析是推动螺栓联轴器进步的一个关键因素。Walsh道:「七、八十年前,工程师们都太过谨慎,联轴器和螺栓常被过度设计,大于实际需求。因为当时还不具备精密复杂的计算和模拟能力,所以这种情况存在于许多行业。」

如今,许多原始设备制造商都能利用电脑建模和模拟技术,来测试温度、不同材料和工作条件的影响。由于旋转联轴器的复杂性,有限元法越来越多地用于识别特定安装中的薄弱环节和扭矩容差。剪切试验则被成功地用来论证不同的螺栓连接解决方案的物理局限性。

WALSH续道:「我们希望通过进一步的分析,看看新设计的膨胀套筒螺栓在传输更高的扭矩方面,跟旧款螺栓相比究竟有何不同。全面的有限元分析是一个显着的优势,它能证明减少螺栓数量和缩小联轴器尺寸的潜力,尤其是在风力涡轮机这样的行业,由于空间所限,人们都希望尽量少用螺栓联轴器。」

随着涡轮机和货轮的尺寸及功率越来越大,需要传输的扭矩越来越高,如何设计更智慧、更小巧的联轴器,仍将是未来的重中之重。

C.A. 帕森斯与「透平尼亚」号

1884年,英国工程师查尔斯·阿尔杰农·帕森斯爵士(Sir Charles Algernon Parsons)发明了汽轮机。

尽管第一台模型机的发电量只有7.5千瓦,但它却展现出用于发电和驱动舰船的巨大潜力。1893年,帕森斯船用汽轮机公司(Parsons Marine Steam Turbine Company)宣告成立,为了证明这项新技术的优势,该公司开始建造「透平尼亚」号(Turbinia)试验舰。

这艘新式舰艇装备了三台轴流式涡轮机,连接三个轴,每轴驱动三个螺旋桨。「透平尼亚」号于1894年建成,是当时世界上最快的舰船,最高航速达34节(63公里/时),而英国皇家海军最快的战舰只能达到27节。

1897年,「透平尼亚」号出人意料地参加了维多利亚女王登基六十年庆典的海上阅兵式,在王室和海军高级将领注目下,将其速度与动力的过人之处完美呈现。随后两年,帕森斯的涡轮机被皇家海军采用,很快又装备到往来于大西洋两岸的客轮上。

查尔斯·阿尔杰农·帕森斯爵士的设计,使汽轮机可以迅速扩大规模,生产出廉价而充足的电力。1899年,第一台兆瓦级涡轮机在德国的一座发电厂建成。在帕森斯的一生中,全世界所有的大型发电厂都用上了他的发明。

紧密相连

用螺栓连接来装配组件的需求由来已久。长期以来,双头螺栓都是标准的螺纹紧固件。这种螺栓可穿入螺孔内,两端用螺母紧固,形成摩擦力连接。但过大的扭矩可能会导致滑移和错位,造成螺栓和螺孔的破损。

膨胀套筒螺栓是一种新型发明,能够克服这些问题。它可以在螺孔内膨胀,保证了真正的螺栓配合,而且载荷分布也要均匀得多。它还易于安装和拆除,并且适合改装。

 

膨胀套筒螺栓确保精准的螺栓配合。

 

 

为水力发电涡轮机轴系选择合适的螺栓,可以显著减少应力集中和微动。

 

与我们取得联系

如需了解更多关于我们如何处理您的具体联系信息,请参阅我们的隐私条款

感谢您与我们联系!

Coupling Challenges & the Evolution

Couplings can be found in many critical applications and represent one of the most challenging bolted joints to secure. And as machines continue to become bigger and more powerful, the demands on couplings become even greater.

Couplings are as old as industrialisation itself with even early simple machines, such as cotton mills and windmills, needing some way of connecting shafts. However, ever since the invention of the steam turbine back in 1884, shaft couplings have become essential in the power generation and shipping industries. As both turbines and shipping vessels have increased in size, so too has the amount of power and torque that needs to be transmitted. This in turn has greatly increased the demands on shafts and couplings, and in the case of bolted couplings, on the bolts themselves.

“In the power generation and marine industries, couplings have always been there and they really haven’t evolved much,” says Martin Walsh, an engineer with over 30 years experience working with large-scale bolted couplings. “If you look at a coupling from 60-70 years ago, it is pretty much the same design and concept as today. However, the engineering behind them has evolved a lot. Bolts in particular is an area where couplings have become a lot more sophisticated and this has allowed smaller couplings to transmit more torque.”

One of the most important functions of a bolted coupling is to maintain shaft alignment. In marine applications, where shafts typically turn at low speed, any misalignment will cause vibration, which in turn puts unnecessary loading on the bearings. In power generation applications, where rotation can be as high as 3,600 rpm, even the slightest vibration or uneven loading is unacceptable and would severely limit the turbine’s ability to run at full power. For this reason, a lot of time and resources are invested in optimising shaft alignment.

“Once you’ve achieved the alignment, then the bolts need to hold it as it was set and maintain that alignment in service,” says Walsh. “At some point in the future, you will take those bolts out and disconnect the shaft. When you put it back together, you want it back to exactly where it was before because you’ve already invested a lot in getting the alignment right.”

For many years the most common bolting solution was standard through bolts, which are relatively cheap and readily available. A bolt is simply inserted through the bore and tightened with nuts on either end to create a friction connection. But the amount of torque that can be transmitted through friction is severely limited and excessive torque can lead to slippage and misalignment. The resulting micro movements and uneven loading can then lead to damaged bolts and bores. The coupling therefore needs to be rebuilt and shaft alignment re-established.

In theory, fitted bolts, which fill the bore, can offer greater torque capacity, since torque is then driven through direct shear across the cross-section of the bolt. In practice it is difficult to achieve a truly fitted bolt, since the bolt’s diameter will reduce as it is tightened. This creates a gap between the bolt and the bore, leading to the same problems of slippage and bolt failure.

This need to establish and maintain shaft alignment, even after a coupling has been dissembled and reassembled again, has led to the increased use of expanding sleeve bolts. Since expanding sleeve bolts expand into the bore, they can ensure a truly fitted bolt and a far more even load distribution. This eliminates movement and slippage, so that shaft alignment should automatically be re-established once the expanding sleeve bolts are reinstalled.

“The expanding sleeve bolt has probably been the biggest single advance in accuracy over the past 30 years,” says Steve Brown, Global Product Manager – Expansion Bolts, Nord-Lock. “They offer many pros and little in the way of cons – ease of installation, accuracy of fit, ease of removal, regaining of alignment and with correctly prepared holes, regaining of concentricity and re-usability.”

A key factor driving the development of bolted couplings has been the evolution in engineering analysis. “70-80 years ago, couplings and bolts were over-engineered and bigger than they needed to be, as engineers erred on the side of caution,” says Walsh. “It was a situation that existed in many industries because the ability to do sophisticated calculations and simulations was not available.”

Now many OEMs have the ability to test the affects of temperature, different materials and operation conditions using computer modelling and simulations. Due to the complexity of rotating couplings, the finite element method (FEM) is becoming increasingly common for identifying weak points and torque tolerance of specific installations. Shear tests have also been used successfully to demonstrate the physical limitations of different bolting solutions.

“There is still scope for further analysis and it would be helpful to see exactly how the newer design of bolts with expanding sleeves compare to the older bolts when it comes to transmitting higher torque,” adds Walsh. “Having a full FE analysis could be a significant advantage since it shows the potential for reducing the number of bolts and size of the coupling, particularly in industries such as wind turbines, where they tend to avoid bolted couplings due to space restrictions.”

The need to design smarter and smaller couplings will continue to be important as turbines and shipping vessels keep on growing in size and output, and need to transmit even more torque.

C.A. PARSONS ”TURBINIA”

In 1884, British engineer Sir Charles Algernon Parsons invented the first steam turbine.

His first model only generated 7.5 kW of electricity, but it demonstrated huge potential for generating electricity and for powering ships. In 1893, the Parsons Marine Steam Turbine Company was set up and in order to demonstrate the capabilities of the new technology, began developing the experiential vessel Turbinia.

The new ship was equipped with three axial-flow turbines fitted to three shafts, with each shaft driving three propellers. On completion in 1894, the Turbinia was the fastest ship in the world reaching speeds of up to 34 knots (63 km/h) – in comparison the Royal Navy’s fastest vessels could only reach 27 knots.

In 1897, the Turbinia turned up unannounced to the Navy Review for Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee, and in front of royalty and senior Navy figures, it was able to clearly demonstrate its superiority in speed and power. Within two years, Parson’s turbines were adopted by the Royal Navy and shortly afterwards used to power transatlantic passenger ships.

Sir Charles Algernon Parsons’ designs also saw steam turbines quickly scaled up, making it possible to generate cheap and plentiful electricity. In 1899 the first megawatt turbine was built in a power generation plant in Germany, and within Parsons’ lifetime, his invention was adapted by all major power stations in the world.

LET’S STICK TOGETHER

The need to assemble components in bolted joints goes way back. For long the through bolt was the standard threaded fastener. It is inserted through the bore and tightened with nuts on either end to create a friction connection. Excessive torque may lead to slippage and misalignment, which in turn can lead to damaged bolts and bores.

The expanding sleeve coupling bolt is a more recent invention, which overcomes these problems. It expands into the bore and ensures a truly fitted bolt along with more even load distribution. It also simplifies installation and removal as well as retrofitting.

 

Expanding sleeve coupling bolts ensure a truly fitted bolt.

 

 

 

Choosing the right bolts for hydro power turbine shaft lines can significantly reduce stress concentrations and micromovements.

 

Get in touch with us

To read more on how we handle your contact details please see our Privacy Policy

Thank you for contacting us!